Bound - Help Center

How Do I Add, Manage and Preview Rules?

Definition of a Rule

A Rule in the Bound platform is the component of a Campaign that connects Content to a Segment. In order to serve personalized Content to a targeted Segment, a Rule must be created. 

Add, Manage and Preview Rules

In order to Add, Manage or Preview a Rule for a particular Campaign, you must first go to the Campaign library. 

Once on the Campaigns screen, identify the Campaign for which you want to add, manage or preview Rules. From the ellipsis, select "RULES." Doing so will bring up a list of all Rules.

Here, you will be able to:

Or take one of the following actions on a specific Rule:

Create a new Rule

In the top right corner of the page, click on the blue "+ New Rule" button to open the New Rule wizard.

  • From the "Display Mode" drop down menu, select the type of content that you would like to display. 
    • Single - will show 1 piece of content

    • Slideshow - will show up to 5 pieces of content in a slideshow format

    • A/B Test - will test up to 5 pieces of content, which will be shown at random

    • Serve Default Content - will just defer to the default content you are already showing on the page

From the "Segment" drop down menu, select the Segment that you would like to target with this Rule. 

From each of the "Content #" drop down menus, select the piece(s) of Content that you'd like to serve to the Segment that you chose.

The Options page will display a list of options based on the Display Mode that you chose. Follow the prompts to complete all of the fields on this page. 

On the Save screen, give your Rule a name. Click FINISH. Your Rule will be created and saved in the OFF position. If you're ready to turn it on, click the toggle on the left side of the Rule to ON.

Manage Rule Priorities

When managing existing Rules priorities, it is important to remember that the order in which a Rule is listed matters. The Bound platform acts on a cascading system to identify visitors and serve specific content. That means that when a page is loaded that contains a Bound Campaign, the platform will go to the Rule list for that particular Campaign and will start at the top to see if the visitor matches the first listed Rule. If they do, then the associated content is delivered. If they do not, then the system moves down to the second Rule to determine whether a match exists there. The system will continue to run down the list of Rules until a match is identified or until it determines that this visitor matches no Rules and should, instead, see default content. 

Because of this system of prioritization, it is important to be thoughtful in how Rules are listed and prioritized in the system. However, changing the priority is very simple. When on the Rules screen, you can hover over a specific Rule to bring up the hand icon. Simply click and drag the Rule to the appropriate location in the list. This will allow you to quickly and easily move Rules up or down in priority order, ensuring that your content is served appropriately. 

As a best practice, Rules that are not actively being used and have been turned to "Off" should be moved down the priority list so that they appear under the last Rule that is in the "On" position.

View Existing Rule Details

On the Rule screen, each Rule box provides all information specific to that Rule and allows you to:

  • View the rule name
  • See whether it is currently ON or OFF
  • Identify the type of rule (single content, A/B test, slideshow, etc.)
  • View and directly edit the segment targeted
  • View and directly edit the content being served

Preview the Rule

Before you turn a new or newly edited Rule live it is important to preview it. 

To open the preview screen, click the magnifying glass in the top right of the Rule. 

Screen_Shot_2018-06-27_at_3.22.08_PM_copy_3.png 

This will open up the preview location box. Here you can select which url you'd like to preview the content on. The platform will suggest any "matches exactly" urls that were set at the Campaign level, but you are free to view the content on any url of your site. However, the preview will only serve the content on pages where the Campaign is firing. 

For example, you might build a Campaign to deliver a fly-in on the homepage (url -> matches exactly -> https://examplesite.com/) AND on any page of your blog (url -> contains -> https://examplesite.com/blog). In this case, the matches exactly url would populate and you could select that OR you could enter any relevant url in the entry box. 

Screen_Shot_2018-06-27_at_3.40.32_PM.png

However, if you entered a url where the campaign was not serving (as shown below), the page would load, but there would be no personalized content served for review. 

Screen_Shot_2018-06-27_at_3.40.47_PM.png

Once you click "Preview Rule," the web page that you indicated will open in a new browser tab. The personalized experience controlled by the Rule will serve on the page and a Rule Preview box will appear to indicate what is being shown. The Preview Box will render as a Bound logo in the corner and can be clicked to be expanded with full details. 

Note: the default location for the Preview Box is in the bottom right, but this can change to better accommodate campaigns that are served in that location and to be user friendly for mobile devices.

Screen_Shot_2018-06-27_at_4.15.46_PM.png

Beyond providing a QA check, Rule Previews allow you to share an experience with somebody who might otherwise not see it.

For example, a marketing manager may configure a Rule to target everybody in the insurance  industry. She would like to show other members on her team what that experience looks like, but nobody on the team is identified as part of the insurance industry by the platform. The marketing manager can still easily show her teammates what the experience for the Insurance Segment of visitors looks like by previewing the Rule and sharing the preview link with her team.

Edit the Rule

If you would like to edit an existing Rule, click the pencil icon in the right hand panel of the Rule. This will bring up the Rule wizard and will allow you to adjust any of the settings.

Screen_Shot_2018-06-27_at_3.22.08_PM.png 

Duplicate the Rule

If you would like to duplicate an existing Rule, click the copy icon in the right hand panel of the Rule. A duplicate will be auto-created and it will, by default, be turned Off.

Screen_Shot_2018-06-27_at_3.22.08_PM_copy_2.png

Delete the Rule

If you would like to delete an existing Rule, click the trash can icon in the right hand panel of the Rule.

Screen_Shot_2018-06-27_at_3.22.08_PM_copy.png

A confirmation box will appear confirming that you do, in fact, wish to delete the Rule. Deleting a Rule is permanent so if you are sure that you would like to delete the Rule, simply click "Yes."

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request